REVIEW: Lucid by Adrienne Stoltz & Ron Bass

12/10/2012 — 2 Comments

lucidLucid by Adrienne Stoltz & Ron Bass

Release Date: October 2, 2012
Format: Hardcover, 343 pages
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Source: purchased from Chapters
Genres: Fiction, Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult, Romance

The Blurb
What if you could dream your way into a different life? What if you could choose to live that life forever?

Sloane and Maggie have never met. Sloane is a straight-A student with a big and loving family. Maggie lives a glamorously independent life as an up-and-coming actress in New York. The two girls couldn’t be more different–except for one thing. They share a secret that they can’t tell a soul. At night, they dream that they’re each other.

The deeper they’re pulled into the promise of their own lives, the more their worlds begin to blur dangerously together. Before long, Sloane and Maggie can no longer tell which life is real and which is just a dream. They realize that eventually they will have to choose one life to wake up to, or risk spiraling into insanity. But that means giving up one world, one love, and one self, forever.

This is a dazzling debut that will steal readers’ hearts.

Add it to your shelf: GoodreadsLibrary ThingShelfari
Buy it: AmazonChapters/IndigoBarnes & Noble

My Thoughts

Maggie and Sloane are two girls living completely different lives who, when they fall asleep, dream of the other person’s day. This concept is never fully explained, but talked about often from each girls perspective. Both girls are going through similar things at the same time – Maggie has lost her father, while Sloane lost her best friend. Suddenly both girls meet THE BOY and both are drawn into love triangles that neither of them see but is apparent to everyone else around them. I loved both of the girls for their completely separate identities and found the supporting characters to be really likeable, if not loveable (I loved Maggie’s little sister, Jude) and well developed.

It was thoroughly engrossing right up until the end, when it got even better. The end was fast-paced and confusing (for both the girls and the reader) but in a good way, I felt the confusion built up the anticipation. And then it was over. Just like that. Which girl won in the end, who was real and who was imaginary? Even though many questions are left unanswered, the book was chilling and real at the same time – it made me wonder if there are people out there right now just like this. It was written honestly, as if these were real girls with real stories. There were holes but the whole read was completely entertaining for me. This is one of those books that I will be thinking about for a long, long time. But then again, I’m the type of person that LOVES it when a book blows my mind at the very end and I’m sitting there wondering what the heck just happened.

My Rating: 5 stars

2 responses to REVIEW: Lucid by Adrienne Stoltz & Ron Bass

  1. 

    Ooooh your review makes me even more exicted to pick this up! I must get my hands on it. I’ve been meaning to read this one for a long time… Don’t know why I’m waiting!!

    • 

      Lucid was one of the books I came across randomly while perusing the bookstore one day a month or so ago, but every time I went in there I gravitated towards it, so I finally picked it up…I’m SO glad I did! I look forward to hearing what you think of it when you read it!

Leave a Reply

