REVIEW: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

11/07/2012 — Leave a comment

The Blurb

Falling in love can feel like poetry. Or it can feel like a slam to the heart.

Colleen Hoover’s romantic, emotion-packed debut novel unforgettably captures all the magic and confusion of first love, as two young people forge an unlikely bond before discovering that fate has other plans for them.

Following the unexpected death of her father, eighteen-year-old Layken becomes the rock for both her mother and younger brother. She appears resilient and tenacious, but inside, she’s losing hope. Then she meets her new neighbor Will, a handsome twenty-one-year-old whose mere presence leaves her flustered and whose passion for poetry slams thrills her.

Not long after a heart-stopping first date during which each recognizes something profound and familiar in the other, they are slammed to the core when a shocking discovery brings their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together and the forces that tear them apart. Only through the poetry they share are they able to speak the truth that is in their hearts and imagine a future where love is cause for celebration, not regret.

Add it to your shelf: GoodreadsLibrary ThingShelfari
Buy it: AmazonChapters/IndigoBarnes & Noble

My Thoughts

I was sucked in from the very first page. To be honest, I was quite excited to read this one, for whatever reason the blurb really spoke to me and I *knew* that I needed to read it. It was a very quick read, mostly because once I started, I didn’t want to put it down.

It started off strong, with great character development (for what it’s worth, I love the names in this book, especially Layken). I was immediately drawn to Layken and her family, I felt bad for her situation. I was drawn in with her ups and downs when it came to Will.

And then. The half-way point of the book happened. And I was a goner. My emotions were flying one way and then flipping the other within PAGES. It was an emotional roller coaster. But all in a good way…I felt every little thing that Layken felt (well, almost).

As an added bonus is the little bits of slam poetry that we’re treated to as “written by” a few of the characters in the book: Will, Layken, and Eddie. I loved this unique way to give us an insight into the characters and how they felt and why they felt that way.

This book is a treat in itself and a must-read. I can’t WAIT to read the next in the series (Point of Retreat), and am already anxious for the third book to be written and released!

My Rating: 5 stars

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

